I, Kinkster Exclusive: Geek Kink Labs Laid Bare

It’s great that Geek Kink Labs — purveyors of fandom-themed BDSM accessories –even exists. Anyone thinking beyond the clichés of BDSM is already nift-tacular, but if they do it with their geek flag out it’s an excuse to jump up and down. A lot. With jigging of boobs.

There’s lot of snark on the internet (I know, shocking, right?). This means that even though Geek Kink toys have been featured on many of the big sci-fi review blogs, the coverage has often been little more than photos of the toys described the more-vanilla-than-thou tone of “sure, if that’s what you’re into”. Props to io9 and Squidoo for avoiding the easy jokes.

The love and craftsmanship that goes into Geek Kink Labs creations alone makes them blog-worthy. But my interests focus more on who these people are and what makes them tick? Luckily Krissy X., cofounder and coCEO, took time out of her busy move to answer some questions about her and her partner Allen’s creative process.

I, Kinkster: Since we don’t know each other very well, is there anything you’d like to start off with to help me and the wider audience understand you better? Maybe things like what flavors of geeks you are. For example, I’m a gamer/word-nerd/japanophile, who’s way into science and sexual themes.

Geek Kink Labs: I grew up around roleplaying games. My grandfather’s played D&D since it came out and my mother is a huge Trekkie. I had an NES controller in my hand before I could hold it myself. My own geekery developed into Fantasy and Literature, but in the past few years I have been exploring Sci-Fi. I LARP Vampire the Masquerade and have been for 9 years. Allen grew up in a far less geeky environment. When he loved comics and magic, his parents encouraged him to get into sports. At 14 he became a Wizards of the coast certified DM. At 17 he really cultivated his love of horror in general and zombies in particular.

13701295238572000742561

IK: How did you decide to start the company? 

GKL: Geek Kink was started while we were shopping for BDSM gear that wasn’t boring, black and red, and that was of good quality. He refused to buy something that would fall apart, and I was sick of everything being so stereotypical. I may be a punk and listen to metal, but I also dress almost solely pink and love Sci-fi and Fantasy.  I was so frustrated that I told him that if I couldn’t buy anything, he needed to start a business making it.  We realized that a lot of our kinky friends were geeky and geeky friends also kinky. There was a market here for quality and awesome.

IK: How do you decide which fandoms get your special treatment? 

GKL: Allen has two ways of working on new designs. The first is taking what we have around the shop and finding a concept from geekery that fits that design. We have piles of odd parts in the shop that have been collected for just this purpose. The other way is if someone gives him an idea or object from something, then he can find a way to replicate it into a functional toy.

I, on the other hand, am always starting designs with a character or show/book/game/etc. I decide to make an item and know exactly what kind of toy it needs to be and how I need to make it. I never start with a toy and make it into geekery. I often work on only one or two new designs at a time unlike Allen who often has upwards of ten going.

2013 04 04 hearts

IK: From looking at your Fetlife profiles it seems like you are very direct people. I grok that. So in the interest of directness, do you ever fetishize your fandoms? 

GKL: So you are basically asking me do I ever play catwoman in bed? I can say I don’t.

IK: Your Etsy page you mentioned that in the future you might begin making Geek Kink Wear and Geek Kink Instertables. To paraphrase Scotty, “This is exciting”. What kinds of things would you like to make or think would have a high demand?

GKL:  We know for some people their geek and kink don’t always include BDSM. Some would just enjoy a nice pair of panties with Star Wars, Star trek, Doctor Who, Hello Kitty, My little Pony, and so on. And we want to appeal to them as well. We are hoping to start making panty and bra sets. Regarding insertables, we want to go further into [ed. note: heh-heh] butt plugs. We would also love to make silicone dildos, though that is a pricey endeavor. We are looking into starting an Offbeatr account and attempt to make the money for the startup that way. We are currently moving and will be looking further into that once the move is complete.

IK: I, personally, would find it hard to select a Geek Kink item because of fandom drift. I get into a movie or game — say Star Trek XI, or Half Life — and become, in the words of my man, frighteningly obsessed. A few months later my ardor cools and I move on. Do you have any way to help people like me?

Even with fandom drift I have noticed (at least in myself) that there is still that one thing that people are passionate about. We have people that want to go more Renaissance, Elizabethan, or Steampunk. Some want a certain color. Our main theme obviously is geek and kink but we cater to all kinds. We will even go basic wood.  You give us your idea, or tell us what you want you can even say hey this is what I like but I don’t know what to do with it and we will work things out with you.

2013 04 04 tardis1

IK: Awesome. Now I’ve got ideas for some cool cyberpunk fashion and gear because, yeah, I am that old. Razorgirls, yeah. In the meantime, I’ll imagine that you’ve already whipped up (heh) a Breaking Bad paddle saying “Meth business? I’m in the ass-slapping business.” or even better “I am the one who knocks“.

Featured and inline images courtesy of Geek Kink Labs.

Leave a Reply

